BCM 325 Assessment 3: The Little Fellas DA

Part 1: The Physical Journey

Part 2: The Theoretical Side

Part 3: The Contextual Essay

Hey guys and welcome to part 3 of my digital artifact. In this short blog post, I will be presenting to you how my DA addresses the focus of this topic and how it relates to the lecture content, evidence of research and development of The Little Fellas DA and finally by reflecting on what has been accomplished over the 3 part series of The Little Fellas.

DA Focus and Lecture Content

The whole purpose behind the DAs in BCM 325 is to develop an answer to the focus of ‘what the future will look like in the next 5, 10, 25, or 50 years’ in the specific area we have chosen to look at. For my DA I focused on how online promotion will look in the next 5 to 15 years and I based my prediction off of the evidence that we have from promotion presently. This is where the lecture content comes in. The reason I chose to use this methodology was that I was inspired by our week three lecture. In week 3 Chris told us about trajectories and planning and (more relevantly for this project) prediction and futures studies. In this lecture, Chris explains that Wendell Bell the creator of the texts Foundations of Future Studies states that for us to understand and to even hope to predict the future we must draw on the knowledge of what is and what has happened. By studying the present and the past we can systematically make predictions about what the possible, probable and preferable future and its trends could be. This lecture is what encouraged me to study what has and is happening in the field of online and cross-promotion, by gathering information and looking at how promotion is used online today I have been able to make an educated prediction focused on the possible future of promotion could look like (See part 2 for my prediction).

Evidence

In part 1 of this series I spoke about what The Little Fellas is currently looking like and provided screenshots as evidence, I will be using the same screenshots here but provide context just to clarify any questions there may have been.

This is a small cropped screen shot (to protect the information of my clients) of the contact This is a small cropped screenshot (to protect the information of my clients) of the contact list that I collected, the full spreadsheet has their names contact details, the feedback they wished to provide as well as the information you can see here. This was for networking and to store a small amount of information about their DA for my understanding.

Theses are the surveys that I created for networking and also to gather more information These are the surveys that I created for networking and also to gather more information on the DA I would be promotion. I would use the information collected from the questions to create the videos. The final slide is a snippet of the response I got from my first contact who I will be working with.

I also want to highlight the sources that I used for making my presentation of online promotion and cross-promotion.

Cross-promotion

What is cross-promotion

Social media cross-promotion

Big data

Instagram data usage

Metadata

Instagram support centre

Google Support

Hardy, Jonathan. Cross-media promotion. Peter Lang, 2010.

How Google tracks you

Reflection

Over the past 13 weeks, I was faced with many challenges with trying to create my DA, these challenges along with feedback and setbacks have helped shaped what The Little Fellas is today. As it currently stands I have a list of contacts with basic information on each project ready, I have a survey which will be sent to these contacts to collect the data I need to make the videos, which I have already gotten one of. This means that I have established a network and have the preparation to create the first episode of The Little Fellas. I have also done a lot of research into both online promotion and social media cross-promotion. In this time I have learnt about what cross-promotion is and how it is used, how it and other forms of online promotion collect users metadata and then store and systematically sort through that data to help them promote more relevant products. Along with this research I and the theory from the lecture from week 3 I have been able to use this information of how promotion has been used and to make a prediction on how it will look in the next 5 to 15 years. With this information, I have been able to help my DA develop by using similar techniques of collecting and storing contacts information and then I will be able to use it to push the videos to relevant viewers through YouTube recommended tabs using the appropriate tags.

That wraps up this wild semester of BCM 325 and is the end to chapter one of The Little Fellas project, thanks for sticking around and watching the progress over the last 13 weeks. Cheers.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started